Hinduism has been tolerant for centuries embedded within the pantheon of gods and goddesses, allowing anyone to experience the divine that suits best to them. This has explained how the members of the same hindu family worship many different forms of the same gods and goddesses.

Some of the popular manifestations that have been known throughout many religions across India are:

  • Maa Durga

with Nine forms of manifestations, Maa Durga has also been known as NavDurga. According to the Hindu Scriptures Goddess Durga has been known as a symbol of power. Each form is worshipped on the day of the Navratri:

  1. Sailaputri(Daughter of the Himalayas)
  2. Brahmacharini(observes the state of celibacy during the time of penance).
  3. Kalaratri(black as night, destroyer of kali)
  4. Chandraghanta(one who wears moon as a necklace)
  5. Kusmanda(the creator of the universe).
  6. Skanda-Mata( the mother of skanda, kartikeya, and born out of her powers)
  7. Katyayani(The daughter of sage katyayana, who incarnated to help the Devas)
  8. Mahagauri( wife of lord Shiva, doing great penance).
  9. Siddhidatri( Provider of Siddhis, giver of mystic powers).

Following has been said by Lord Brahma himself about Maa Durga:

prathamaṁ śailaputrīti dvitīyaṁ brahmacāriṇī ।
tr̥tīyaṁ candraghaṇṭeti  kūṣmāṇḍeti caturthakam ॥ 3॥

Meaning: “First is the Goddess of Inspiration, and second the Goddess of Sacred Study; third is the Goddess of the Delight of Practice, the Goddess of Purifying Austerity is fourth.”

  • Lord Vishnu

Also known as The Dashavatar and one of the most powerful trinity gods, it has been described in many religious books that Lord Vishnu had incarnated ten times for the welfare of Mankind:

  1. matsya, the fish
  2. Kurma, the tortoise
  3. varaha, the boar
  4. Narsimha, the half man-half lion incarnation from the Satya yug.
  5. Vamana, a boy from treta yuga benicar blood pressure.
  6. Parshurama, a warrior with an axe, from the treta yuga.
  7. Rama, the prince and later the king of Ayodhya, from the treta yuga.
  8. Krishna, the eight son of devaki and Vasudev, from the Dwapara yug.
  9. Gautam Buddha, is generally speculated as the avatar of Vishnu in Hinduism.
  10. Kalki, to appear at the end of Kaliyug.

The only question a person should never lose an opportunity to ask a Hindu person is that ” Which of the Hindu Gods and Goddesses do you worship the most or are your favourite one’s?”. The answer that you will get will be so diverse ranging from Ganesha, Shiva, Lord Vishnu, Durga, Lakshmi. And when asked that what is the relationship of your favourite god with other gods and goddesses described in the Hindu religion, the answer will be surprisingly one: ” All gods in Hinduism are same, or give the same divine energy, just that their forms are different, and I like my god in this particular incarnation.”